a day of mourning

Strapped for disk space and absent the cash to spring for an external hard drive, I had to delete my (10 gig) comic book collection. They’re all on my brother’s external back home, so I should be able to reunite with them some day. For now: Daredevil, Batman, trippy Vertigo books… I’ll remember the good times, but mostly the soul-crushing boredom of that week where I lived in a hotel in Madison with my family.

A year after the series’ end, though, and I still haven’t found anything that captures me like Brian Vaughan’s Y. If 2009 brings anything that serves nearly as well for radically imaginative escapism or perceptive social comment, I’ll be delighted. I’m not holding my breath for anything to do both.

~ by staticandme on February 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
