an embarassing moment

After a long hiatus from the blog, I think its important to type something, anything, before the silence gets too heavy. I’ll share an anecdote from my trip to North Carolina (but of course its  so much more pretentious than that):

Wittgenstein observed that sentences acquire their meaning from contextual rules that participants in a conversation must share. The exact same sentence could have two entirely different meanings if it is spoken with different rules in mind. So in preparing for a dinner with the faculty, one of the other prospective students ask me, “What are you going to wear tonight?” I’ve been asked this question many times before, usually by one of my girl friends or fellow homosexuals – in that context, it is a question of fashion. And so I begin a detailed and incredibly enthusiastic description of the outfit that I assembled for the occasion, which was new and which I was excited to wear, describing the sweater and the slacks and how the pinstripes matched with the argyle pattern and so on. Punctuated with some declaration of how cute it all looked together. Wrong language game. The other guy looked puzzled, then laughed, then said he  just wanted to know I’d be dressing formal or casual. Sheepish reply: “Right, so, yeah, just business casual, I guess.”

~ by staticandme on March 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
